Published: Thu, July 19, 2018
Sports | By Jonathan Ford

Houston, Phoenix among future Final Four sites

Houston, Phoenix among future Final Four sites

The NCAA announced Monday that it has selected Houston, Phoenix, San Antonio and Indianapolis to host the Final Four from 2023 through 2026, respectively. Aside from running into another city's group in a Boston hotel lobby, Johnson never saw another representative or glanced at another presentation. The city hosted in 1971, when UCLA won its fifth of what would be seven consecutive national championships. Glendale/Phoenix will host the games once again in 2024. North Carolina won 77-76.

You can find the full list of Final Four host cities through the year 2026 here.

Detroit previously hosted the 2009 Final Four at Ford Field, where Michigan State made the national championship game before falling to North Carolina. This will be just the second Final Four to take place in the western part of the country since 1995. The Alamo city has hosted various rounds of the tournament 10 times and will also host the 2022 South Regional.

"We thought they could have gone either way", for a Final Four site in the west, Johnson said.

"While we were eagerly looking forward to a more favorable outcome, we are proud of and grateful for the efforts put forward by the Big Ten, Michigan State University and the Detroit Sports Organizing bring the NCAA Men's Final Four back to Detroit", Detroit Sports Commission Director Kris Smith said in a statement. Houston has also hosted three NCAA Regionals at NRG and will host a 2020 Regional at Toyota Center.

"Very few destinations have as many cities involved - perhaps Los Angeles might be the only other - but a frequent big event city ... we're probably the most unique in terms of having myriad municipalities and different CVBs", President and CEO of Visit Phoenix Steve Moore said. They get together on a regular basis to discuss the specifics of each mega-event bid, sharing resources and knowledge in a collective way that countless other cities fail to do.

The Final Four will be played in Minneapolis in 2019, Atlanta in 2020 and New Orleans in 2022.

Like this: