Published: Sun, April 15, 2018
IT&Software | By Alfonso Woods

This Gmail Will Self Destruct: Confidential Mode Is Coming

This Gmail Will Self Destruct: Confidential Mode Is Coming

The revamp looks like it'll feature a new, clean design, smart replies, the ability to snooze emails and a new pane for the Calendar and Keep apps.

- Search results are also cached on the device so you can quickly re-access previous searches‚ even when you're offline‚ without incurring further data costs. The Gmail redesign reportedly also includes a setting for users to change their views to two difference versions - Comfortable and Compact.

Gmail's current design as viewed on the web.

Like other services that allow you to send disappearing messages, such as Snapchat and Instagram, Gmail's confidential mode doesn't prevent someone from taking a screenshot or photo of the email. Apparently, the new self-destructing emails feature which will allow the users to put a timestamp to their mails after which the email won't be available anymore has been termed as the "Confidential Mode" in Gmail. In the compose window of Gmail, there is a small lock icon named "Confidential Mode", which states that the email recipient won't be able to forward email content, copy and paste, download or print the email.

Google is all set to refresh one of the most widely employed internet service, Gmail in a few weeks.

We're working on some major updates to Gmail (they're still in draft phase). The revision states, "Our automated systems analyse your content (including emails) to provide you personally relevant product features, such as customised search results, tailored advertising, and spam and malware detection".

There are a number of ways the technology could be used, and perhaps to allay the public's likely (and probably founded) concerns about privacy, Google has led with the rather dry example of speech recognition for automatic video captioning. It's not clear how that data counts people who have personal Gmail accounts and work Gmail accounts monitored by G Suite administrators, but the notice sent out by Google says that these changes will be coming to personal email accounts as well.

As of now, it's unknown whether the feature is going to be compatible with non-Gmail users.

Like this: