Published: Mon, March 12, 2018
IT&Software | By Alfonso Woods

WhatsApp extends Delete for All message time limit

WhatsApp extends Delete for All message time limit

Curently only WhatsApp Android beta testers can make use of the the extended deadline for "Delete for Everyone" feature.

We have seen that the extended time for deleting messages working on Android beta, but not on the iOS version of WhatsApp. To be precise, one hour 8 minutes and 16 seconds, beyond which, the user can not erase messages.

In hindsight, it is also possible that WhatsApp is testing out a new feature that could allow users to send time-limited messages which is something that already available on other messaging apps such as Telegram. The latest WhatsApp version 2.18.31. will extend the time set for reviewing a message sent to a contact, or in a group. However, it allowed for only a rather short seven minutes, for your (possibly drunk) brain to decide to erase errant messages from your own and the recipient's / group's device. The report further adds, "If WhatsApp finds a message in the database having the same ID of the received revoke message request, it checks the data of the message saved in the database, performing an operation: if [current date] - [the date of the saved message] is less than 24 hours, WhatsApp can successfully delete the message".

What happens at the moment with the messaging app is that if a "Delete for everyone" request feature was sent out, then WhatsApp would just match the request ID to the message ID and then delete if a match was found. "It is a bug fixes update, but it has the new "Delete for everyone" limit, that's 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds".

If you've sent something by mistake you can now delete it. Tap and hold it you'll pop-up window will appear with quick links to Reply, Forward, Copy and Delete.

Like this: