Published: Wed, March 14, 2018
People | By Neil Grant

BJP ahead in Araria, Bhabua; RJD in Jehanabad

BJP ahead in Araria, Bhabua; RJD in Jehanabad

In Jehanabad, the RJD hopes to retain the Assembly seat that fell vacant after the death of Mundrika Yadav. The results are expected to be declared by Thursday afternoon, according to an Election Commission official. Gorakhpur bypoll results 2018: In a turn of events, SP's Praveen Kumar Nishad is leading by 1523 with 44,979 votes, BJP's Upendra Dutt Shukla second with 43,456 votes.

The bypolls will also test the leadership skills of RJD's Tejashwi Yadav, 28, who has led the opposition campaign as his father and party chief Lalu Prasad is in jail in a corruption case. The former ally of current ruling party JD (U) is leading by 23,187 with 3,33,050 votes with BJP trailing behind mananging 3,09,863 votes.

Gorakhpur/Patna: Counting of votes for bypolls to three Lok Sabha seats - Phulpur and Gorakpur in Uttar Pradesh and Araria in Bihar - began at 8 am on Wednesday. This process takes time.He added: Only then is the counting sheet of the entire Parliamentary constituency finalised & we announce it. JDU's candidate from Jehanabad, Abhiram Sharma reached at counting center last midnight. Around 15 tables will be used at each counting centre in different assembly segments.

AM: BJP leading after first round of counting in Araria Lok Sabha by-poll. In the Bhabua and Jehanabad Assembly constituencies in Bihar, where bypolls were also held, the voter turnout was 54.03 per cent and 50.06 per cent respectively, Bihar's Chief Electoral Officer Ajay V Nayak said.

Let us tell you that in this tired of the Arriya Lok Sabha by-election, there is a direct fight between BJP Pradip Singh and RJD's Sarfaraz Alam.

In Bhabhua, BJP candidate Rinki Rani Pandey seemed comfortably placed with a lead of close to 10,000 votes over her Congress rival Shambhu Singh Patel.

RJD extends lead in Araria Lok Sabha seat. Gorakhpur is the parliamentary constituency and stronghold of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. Adityanath and Maurya both resigned from the parliament to become Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, thus necessitating the by-elections.

Like this: